Diary of a Designer – Part 90 – by Patrick Moriarty

I’m excited to see what the reaction is to my new design, called “Paisley Positivity”. I had already uploaded 4 versions to Spoonflower, so that people could buy them as printed fabric or wallpaper. The first four versions were black and white versions in 2 sizes. On September 6th I uploaded another 84 versions of the design, in different colors and also in large ans small-scale sizes. Here is the small version in tones of teal color. Teal is a very trendy color at the moment.

"Paisley Positivity" design in color tones of teal. This is the small-scale version.
“Paisley Positivity” design in color tones of teal. Small-scale version.

You can also buy the design as home decor items, which are manufactured by Spoonflower printers. Here is the large white and black version of the Paisley Positivity design made into a throw pillow cover.

On September 7th, Suzette Norman bought a “Paisley Prince Songbook” face mask from the PaisleyPower1 shop at Rage On.

"Paisley Prince Songbook" face mask
“Paisley Prince Songbook” face mask

The last time I updated my blog posts with sales figures for my Paisley Power fabrics, was August 27th. Since then, lots of customers worldwide have bought a variety of my fabrics.

The Paisley Rats fabric is still selling well. These are some of the purchases by customers. The medium turquoise version (pictured below), the large black rats on white background version and the medium black and white version. There are lots of people worldwide who own rats as pets. There are not many printed fabrics with rat motifs for them to buy, therefore I have been very lucky that rat-owners have been appreciating my fabrics and have been buying them often. Many customers return again and again to buy more of my rat-themed fabrics.

Cassie Mayo bought the 3-inch white and black version of the Paisley Rats Mosaic fabric. The version she bought is on the right-hand side of the photo below.

2 contrasting black and white versions of the Paisley Rats Mosaic fabrics.
2 contrasting black and white versions of the Paisley Rats Mosaic fabrics.

It’s always personally rewarding to find photos of people on social media who are wearing my fabrics. Here is a photo of Jesse Martinez in Cedar Rapids, Iowa US, wearing a face mask made with my Paisley Prince Songbook fabric. Jesse chose the large version of the Prince-themed fabric to make his mask. The crying dove at the centre of the mask is large and impressive. The purple rain is also large and eye-catching. Nobody will be in any doubt that this mask belongs to a massive Prince fan.

Jesse Martinez in the US, wearing a face mask made with my Paisley Prince Songbook fabric
Jesse Martinez in the US, wearing a face mask made with my Paisley Prince Songbook fabric

Published by Paisley Power

I am a textile print designer and create unique designs for fashion, accessories, and home furnishing. I played Keyboards in bands until I was 35, then I retrained as a textile designer. I design fashion prints every day for major international retailers including Zara, Hugo Boss, H&M, and Gap. In 2014 I formed the brand Paisley Power to enable me to promote my designs to a worldwide audience. I enjoy introducing new designs to my collection, then receiving ideas, feedback, and suggestions from my friends and customers. The best part of being a designer is being inspired every day by cultures and environments and interpreting them into my own unique creations. In 2018 I developed a unique method of teaching printed textile design. I began teaching the course at METAL Art School, Southend-on-Sea, Essex, UK in September 2018. It was a big success with lots of students, who had no previous experience in textile design, producing professionally printed fabrics. In 2019 and 2022 I taught my design methods to a group of adults with learning difficulties. I also taught my techniques at a workshop organized by the Guild of Silk Painters, for their members in July 2019. Another strand of my business is providing a Photoshop design service to artists. My clients include Este MacLeod, Jennifer Orkin Lewis (August Wren), and Deborah Velasquez. They send me scans of their paintings and I adapt the artwork into repeating patterns so that they can be used for commercial projects including printed fabrics, wallpapers, puzzles, stationery, and home décor. In January 2019 I launched a new design called Paisley Prince Songbook. I originally created the design by drawing it on paper in 2018. It has been extremely popular as printed fabric with customers all over the world. The Prince-theme scarves, throw pillows, facemasks, bags, totes, and greeting cards have all been selling extremely well. Sales of the printed fabric with the Paisley Prince Songbook design have exceeded 1000 yards. The design has been very popular with Prince fans. The design has unique motifs symbolizing the songs of Prince Rogers Nelson, including purple rain, crying doves, paisley symbols, peace signs, guitars, and tambourines. In 2020 I created the design “Paisley Positivity”, which has been popular with customers as a printed fabric and as made-to-order home décor items, including luxurious bedding. In December 2020, "Paisley Power" and "paisleypower" became registered trademarks with the UK Intellectual Property Office. In 2022, 2 of my most popular designs (Paisley Prince Songbook and Paisley Elephants) were displayed at the Museum for Islamic Art in Jerusalem, Israel. The designs were part of a major exhibition about the paisley pattern.

Leave a comment