Rat Aprons Arrive!

What a relief! my paisley rat aprons have arrived in San Francisco today ready for the launch of the Rat Cafe at San Francisco Dungeon at Fisherman’s Wharf on Saturday. It was a close-shave because the fabric took weeks to be printed, then my excellent seamstress was quite busy but she managed to sew them quickly for me (thank you Zoe!), then the postal services are usually great but sometimes a package abroad can take longer than expected. The Rat Cafe events are sold out in advance and have received extensive press coverage in Vogue, Cosmopolitan, Time magazine, Fox News, plus many other media outlets in US, UK, Germany and worldwide. The organisers Rattie Ratz, a rat-rescue charity said “We got your package and they look great! We’ll be sure to send you pictures”. Thanks to my friends at the Surface Pattern Design Guild in San Francisco for suggesting my rat fabric.
https://sanfrancisco.thedungeons.com/…/Explore/th…/rat-cafe/

rat-cafe-San-Francisco-Dungeon
The Rat Cafe at San Francisco Dungeon
rat-print-fabric-apron-by-textile-designer-Patrick-Moriarty
Specially made apron by Paisley Power for the Rat Cafe

I hope visitors to the cafe like the rat aprons. Hopefully a few people will decide to make their own aprons by buying the popular Paisley Rats (medium-scale black and white and version) fabric  from my Paisley Power store at Spoonflower.com.

Hopefully Rattie Ratz and the San Francisco Dungeon will host some more Rat Cafe events so that my aprons will be appreciated by lots of people to enhance their totally unique cafe experience. Hope to see you there soon!

Published by Paisley Power

I am a textile print designer and create unique designs for fashion, accessories, and home furnishing. I played Keyboards in bands until I was 35, then I retrained as a textile designer. I design fashion prints every day for major international retailers including Zara, Hugo Boss, H&M, and Gap. In 2014 I formed the brand Paisley Power to enable me to promote my designs to a worldwide audience. I enjoy introducing new designs to my collection, then receiving ideas, feedback, and suggestions from my friends and customers. The best part of being a designer is being inspired every day by cultures and environments and interpreting them into my own unique creations. In 2018 I developed a unique method of teaching printed textile design. I began teaching the course at METAL Art School, Southend-on-Sea, Essex, UK in September 2018. It was a big success with lots of students, who had no previous experience in textile design, producing professionally printed fabrics. In 2019 and 2022 I taught my design methods to a group of adults with learning difficulties. I also taught my techniques at a workshop organized by the Guild of Silk Painters, for their members in July 2019. Another strand of my business is providing a Photoshop design service to artists. My clients include Este MacLeod, Jennifer Orkin Lewis (August Wren), and Deborah Velasquez. They send me scans of their paintings and I adapt the artwork into repeating patterns so that they can be used for commercial projects including printed fabrics, wallpapers, puzzles, stationery, and home décor. In January 2019 I launched a new design called Paisley Prince Songbook. I originally created the design by drawing it on paper in 2018. It has been extremely popular as printed fabric with customers all over the world. The Prince-theme scarves, throw pillows, facemasks, bags, totes, and greeting cards have all been selling extremely well. Sales of the printed fabric with the Paisley Prince Songbook design have exceeded 1000 yards. The design has been very popular with Prince fans. The design has unique motifs symbolizing the songs of Prince Rogers Nelson, including purple rain, crying doves, paisley symbols, peace signs, guitars, and tambourines. In 2020 I created the design “Paisley Positivity”, which has been popular with customers as a printed fabric and as made-to-order home décor items, including luxurious bedding. In December 2020, "Paisley Power" and "paisleypower" became registered trademarks with the UK Intellectual Property Office. In 2022, 2 of my most popular designs (Paisley Prince Songbook and Paisley Elephants) were displayed at the Museum for Islamic Art in Jerusalem, Israel. The designs were part of a major exhibition about the paisley pattern.

Leave a comment